On free tier, Cursor is Hobby, Free and Cline is Free, the open-source extension. On cheapest paid plan, Cursor is $20 / mo. (Pro) and Cline does not publish it. On team plan, Cursor is $40 / user / mo. (Teams, Standard seat) and Cline does not publish it. On past the included usage, Cursor is On-demand usage, billed in arrears and Cline is You pay for inference, at cost, or on your own key. ToolDrift sells neither of these and takes no referral fee on either, it scores them. Every figure was read off the named company's own page on or since 2026-09-18; the URLs and the dates are at the foot of this page, and a job re-fetches each one on a schedule and fails when a figure is no longer on the page it came from.
| COMPARED ON | ||
|---|---|---|
| Free tierwhat the vendor gives you at $0 a month, in its own words | Hobby, Free"No credit card required", limited Agent requests, access to Composer. Cursor serves two pricing layouts at random on the same URL, and the plan name sits next to a tagline in one of them, so this row matches the feature line both layouts carry.cursor.com, read 18 September 2026 | Free, the open-source extension"You only pay for AI inference on a usage basis - no subscriptions, no vendor lock-in."cline.bot, read 18 September 2026 |
| Cheapest paid plan | $20 / mo. (Pro)Cursor names the $20 tier Pro. Sampled ten times tonight, the page returned two layouts five times each: one prints Hobby Free, Pro $20 / mo., Pro+ $60 / mo. and Ultra $200 / mo. as four cards, the other prints one Individual card at $20 / mo. covering Pro, Pro+ and Ultra, which is what this row recorded on 14 August 2026. Both agree the cheapest paid price is $20 / mo. Cursor also publishes Start at ₹649/mo, tax inclusive, for developers in India only.cursor.com, read 18 September 2026 | not publishedThere is no paid subscription tier to name. The only plan beside Open Source is Enterprise, priced "Custom".cline.bot, read 18 September 2026 |
| Team plan | $40 / user / mo. (Teams, Standard seat)"There are two business plans: Teams and Enterprise (custom). Teams offers two seat types: standard ($40/user/mo) and premium ($120/user/mo), where premium adds 5x the standard limits on Agent." Read off Cursor's pricing documentation rather than the pricing page, because one of the two layouts that page serves at random omits the Teams block entirely.cursor.com, read 18 September 2026 | not publishedEnterprise is the team offering and its price is "Custom", the page's call to action is "Contact Sales".cline.bot, read 18 September 2026 |
| Past the included usagewhat the vendor says happens when the plan's allowance runs out, the line that decides the real bill, and the one no headline price includes | On-demand usage, billed in arrears"Every plan includes a set amount of model usage. On-demand usage allows you to continue using models after your included amount is consumed, billed in arrears."cursor.com, read 18 September 2026 | You pay for inference, at cost, or on your own key"You can bring your own API keys from providers like OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, and others. This gives you complete control over your costs and usage."cline.bot, read 18 September 2026 |
Pick Cursor when
You want the editor everyone else on the team already knows, and you want the agent and the editor to be one product rather than a plugin. Cursor is the default answer for a reason: it is the most widely used of these, its $20 tier is the same price as the cheapest agent subscription here, and its Teams tier at $40 / user / mo. is the only one on this table that bundles SSO, pooled billing and agentic code review without a sales call.
Pick Cline when
You want the agent's costs to be your model bill and nothing else, and you want to see every token it spends. Cline is open source, charges no subscription at all, "Pay only for AI inference on a usage basis - no subscriptions, no vendor lock-in", and it runs against Anthropic, OpenAI, Gemini, OpenRouter, Bedrock and Vertex, so nobody between you and the model is taking a margin you cannot see.
Cursor vs Cline, free tier?
Cursor: Hobby, Free. "No credit card required", limited Agent requests, access to Composer. Cursor serves two pricing layouts at random on the same URL, and the plan name sits next to a tagline in one of them, so this row matches the feature line both layouts carry. Cline: Free, the open-source extension. "You only pay for AI inference on a usage basis - no subscriptions, no vendor lock-in.". Read from cursor.com and cline.bot on 2026-09-18. Free tier here means what the vendor gives you at $0 a month, in its own words.
Cursor vs Cline, cheapest paid plan?
Cursor: $20 / mo. (Pro). Cursor names the $20 tier Pro. Sampled ten times tonight, the page returned two layouts five times each: one prints Hobby Free, Pro $20 / mo., Pro+ $60 / mo. and Ultra $200 / mo. as four cards, the other prints one Individual card at $20 / mo. covering Pro, Pro+ and Ultra, which is what this row recorded on 14 August 2026. Both agree the cheapest paid price is $20 / mo. Cursor also publishes Start at ₹649/mo, tax inclusive, for developers in India only. Cline does not state it on cline.bot. There is no paid subscription tier to name. The only plan beside Open Source is Enterprise, priced "Custom". Read from cursor.com and cline.bot on 2026-09-18.
Cursor vs Cline, team plan?
Cursor: $40 / user / mo. (Teams, Standard seat). "There are two business plans: Teams and Enterprise (custom). Teams offers two seat types: standard ($40/user/mo) and premium ($120/user/mo), where premium adds 5x the standard limits on Agent." Read off Cursor's pricing documentation rather than the pricing page, because one of the two layouts that page serves at random omits the Teams block entirely. Cline does not state it on cline.bot. Enterprise is the team offering and its price is "Custom", the page's call to action is "Contact Sales". Read from cursor.com and cline.bot on 2026-09-18.
When should I pick Cursor, and when Cline?
Cursor, You want the editor everyone else on the team already knows, and you want the agent and the editor to be one product rather than a plugin. Cursor is the default answer for a reason: it is the most widely used of these, its $20 tier is the same price as the cheapest agent subscription here, and its Teams tier at $40 / user / mo. is the only one on this table that bundles SSO, pooled billing and agentic code review without a sales call. Cline, You want the agent's costs to be your model bill and nothing else, and you want to see every token it spends. Cline is open source, charges no subscription at all, "Pay only for AI inference on a usage basis - no subscriptions, no vendor lock-in", and it runs against Anthropic, OpenAI, Gemini, OpenRouter, Bedrock and Vertex, so nobody between you and the model is taking a margin you cannot see.
| COLUMN | PAGE | WHAT IT SUPPLIED | READ |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cursor | cursor.com | Free tier, Cheapest paid plan, Past the included usage | 18 September 2026 |
| Cursor | cursor.com | Team plan | 18 September 2026 |
| Cline | cline.bot | Free tier, Cheapest paid plan, Team plan, Past the included usage | 18 September 2026 |
- Cursorcursor.comFree tier, Cheapest paid plan, Past the included usageREAD 18 SEPTEMBER 2026
- Cursorcursor.comTeam planREAD 18 SEPTEMBER 2026
- Clinecline.botFree tier, Cheapest paid plan, Team plan, Past the included usageREAD 18 SEPTEMBER 2026
Every cell above names the exact page it was read off, the day it was read, and a literal string that must still be on that page for the figure to hold. A job re-fetches each one on a schedule and fails when the string is gone, which is the difference between a table that is checked and one that was written once.