On free tier, GitHub Copilot is $ 0 USD, 2,000 completions per month and Augment Code does not publish it. On cheapest paid plan, GitHub Copilot is $ 10 USD per user / month (Pro) and Augment Code is $20 /month flat, no per-seat charge (Standard). On team plan, GitHub Copilot does not publish it and Augment Code is $20/month flat, up to 50 seats included (Standard). On past the included usage, GitHub Copilot is GitHub AI Credits, $15 monthly total credits for Pro and Augment Code is Top-ups, pay as you go. ToolDrift sells neither of these and takes no referral fee on either, it scores them. Every figure was read off the named company's own page on or since 2026-09-18; the URLs and the dates are at the foot of this page, and a job re-fetches each one on a schedule and fails when a figure is no longer on the page it came from.
| COMPARED ON | ||
|---|---|---|
| Free tierwhat the vendor gives you at $0 a month, in its own words | $ 0 USD, 2,000 completions per month"Access to Haiku 4.5, GPT-5 mini, and more", Copilot CLI, community support, no credit card.github.com, read 18 September 2026 | not publishedAugment publishes three plans: Standard, Business and Enterprise. None is free and there is no free tier on the page.augmentcode.com, read 18 September 2026 |
| Cheapest paid plan | $ 10 USD per user / month (Pro)Adds the cloud agent and code review, unlimited completions, and third-party agents, the page names Claude Code and Codex. Pro+ is $ 39 USD and Max is $ 100 USD.github.com, read 18 September 2026 | $20 /month flat, no per-seat charge (Standard)Augment added a Standard plan below Business after this row was read on 14 August 2026. Standard is $20/month flat with "$20/mo of usage across LLM, Context Engine & compute" included. Business is the same shape at $100/month with $100 of usage.augmentcode.com, read 18 September 2026 |
| Team plan | not publishedThe plan grid carries a "For businesses" tab, and this page's own text prices only the individual plans, Free, Pro, Pro+ and Max. Nothing readable on it prices Copilot Business or Copilot Enterprise.github.com, read 18 September 2026 | $20/month flat, up to 50 seats included (Standard)"One flat price for your whole team, up to 50 seats with $20 of usage included every month." Business is the same shape at $100/month with $100 of usage. Enterprise is Custom with unlimited users. Usage and top-ups are pooled across the team, with no per-seat charge.augmentcode.com, read 18 September 2026 |
| Past the included usagewhat the vendor says happens when the plan's allowance runs out, the line that decides the real bill, and the one no headline price includes | GitHub AI Credits, $15 monthly total credits for ProCredits are consumed by chat, agent mode, code review and the cloud agent. Pro+ carries $70 of monthly credits and Max $200.github.com, read 18 September 2026 | Top-ups, pay as you goPast the usage included in the plan, $20 on Standard or $100 on Business, you buy top-ups rather than moving to a higher tier.augmentcode.com, read 18 September 2026 |
Pick GitHub Copilot when
The code already lives in GitHub and you would rather add a line to an invoice you are already paying than start a new vendor relationship. Copilot is the cheapest paid tier in this table at $ 10 USD per user / month, it is the only one whose agent runs inside pull requests and code review natively, and it is the one your procurement department has already approved.
Pick Augment Code when
The codebase is large enough that context is the whole problem, and the team is big enough that per-seat pricing has stopped being rational. Augment is the only entry in this table priced as "$20 /month flat, no per-seat charge" on Standard for up to 50 seats, so a twenty-developer team pays $20 against $800 for Cursor Teams, and the retrieval engine is what it sells rather than the editor.
GitHub Copilot vs Augment Code, free tier?
GitHub Copilot: $ 0 USD, 2,000 completions per month. "Access to Haiku 4.5, GPT-5 mini, and more", Copilot CLI, community support, no credit card. Augment Code does not state it on augmentcode.com. Augment publishes three plans: Standard, Business and Enterprise. None is free and there is no free tier on the page. Read from github.com and augmentcode.com on 2026-09-18. Free tier here means what the vendor gives you at $0 a month, in its own words.
GitHub Copilot vs Augment Code, cheapest paid plan?
GitHub Copilot: $ 10 USD per user / month (Pro). Adds the cloud agent and code review, unlimited completions, and third-party agents, the page names Claude Code and Codex. Pro+ is $ 39 USD and Max is $ 100 USD. Augment Code: $20 /month flat, no per-seat charge (Standard). Augment added a Standard plan below Business after this row was read on 14 August 2026. Standard is $20/month flat with "$20/mo of usage across LLM, Context Engine & compute" included. Business is the same shape at $100/month with $100 of usage. Read from github.com and augmentcode.com on 2026-09-18.
GitHub Copilot vs Augment Code, team plan?
GitHub Copilot does not state it on github.com. The plan grid carries a "For businesses" tab, and this page's own text prices only the individual plans, Free, Pro, Pro+ and Max. Nothing readable on it prices Copilot Business or Copilot Enterprise. Augment Code: $20/month flat, up to 50 seats included (Standard). "One flat price for your whole team, up to 50 seats with $20 of usage included every month." Business is the same shape at $100/month with $100 of usage. Enterprise is Custom with unlimited users. Usage and top-ups are pooled across the team, with no per-seat charge. Read from github.com and augmentcode.com on 2026-09-18.
When should I pick GitHub Copilot, and when Augment Code?
GitHub Copilot, The code already lives in GitHub and you would rather add a line to an invoice you are already paying than start a new vendor relationship. Copilot is the cheapest paid tier in this table at $ 10 USD per user / month, it is the only one whose agent runs inside pull requests and code review natively, and it is the one your procurement department has already approved. Augment Code, The codebase is large enough that context is the whole problem, and the team is big enough that per-seat pricing has stopped being rational. Augment is the only entry in this table priced as "$20 /month flat, no per-seat charge" on Standard for up to 50 seats, so a twenty-developer team pays $20 against $800 for Cursor Teams, and the retrieval engine is what it sells rather than the editor.
| COLUMN | PAGE | WHAT IT SUPPLIED | READ |
|---|---|---|---|
| GitHub Copilot | github.com | Free tier, Cheapest paid plan, Team plan, Past the included usage | 18 September 2026 |
| Augment Code | augmentcode.com | Free tier, Cheapest paid plan, Team plan, Past the included usage | 18 September 2026 |
- GitHub Copilotgithub.comFree tier, Cheapest paid plan, Team plan, Past the included usageREAD 18 SEPTEMBER 2026
- Augment Codeaugmentcode.comFree tier, Cheapest paid plan, Team plan, Past the included usageREAD 18 SEPTEMBER 2026
Every cell above names the exact page it was read off, the day it was read, and a literal string that must still be on that page for the figure to hold. A job re-fetches each one on a schedule and fails when the string is gone, which is the difference between a table that is checked and one that was written once.